This is my last post before we leave. Tomorrow morning we will be up and drive I40 from here to West Memphis, Tennessee. Monday we start railfanning through Arkansas, Thayer, Missouri, and will spend the night in West Plains. Tuesday we’ll cross Missouri as close to tracks as we can get, stop for a while in Springfield, and then drive on to Joplin to see family.

Family get-togethers are planned for both Thursday and Friday. We’ll also see our dear friend Grace Nolting, probably eating dinner with her on Saturday. Sunday will find us at First Christian Church, where I was baptized (as were my sister and brother) and where Bill and I were married (and also my sister and brother).

We’ll leave Joplin Tuesday and drive to Paola, Kansas (south and west of Kansas City) for a day of railfanning. Paola has proven to be a great spot to see lots of trains. That evening we’ll drive onto Iowa, where we plan to visit a windmill farm and catch a lot of train action, especially in Cedar Rapids, where we’ll spend two nights. After that we’ll drive to Lebanon, Tennessee and then finally home.

I do not expect to get on a computer anywhere along the road. That’s by choice: It’s a vacation. You can expect a new post from me on about October 1.