You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 6, 2007.

Sherry Chandler has posted a “preachy” entry on both her blog and The Peace Tree.

The article deals with motherhood in wartime. Having been a mother for almost 30 years, she talks about the wars that have been going on during that time and how war affects the children. “Hatred perpetuates itself in the children and I have no idea how to stop the pattern. I can’t even perform the futile act of writing poetry about it,” says Sherry, who is a fine poet. “I’ve tried.”

Read for yourself. We live in a society of “perpetual hatred.” What can we do about it? Do we even want to stop war? Do we think it is a problem?

As fearful people we are inclined to develop a mind-set that makes us say: “There’s not enough food for everyone, so I better be sure I save enough for myself in case of emergency,” or “There’s not enough knowledge for everyone to enjoy; so I’d better keep my knowledge to myself, so no one else will use it” or “There’s not enough love to give to everybody, so I’d better keep my friends for myself to prevent others from taking them away from me.” This is a scarcity mentality. It involves hoarding whatever we have, fearful that we won’t have enough to survive. The tragedy, however, is that what you cling to ends up rotting in your hands.
.

MY CHALLENGE (mainly to Christians): Relate this to what you believe about “outsiders” such as illegal “aliens” (or “slackers” who “want to” stay on welfare, while driving a “better car” than you).

Do you have any agruments other than “what part of illegal don’t you understand?” Is that what you want to tell God when He asks about being your “brother’s keeper?” Do you really think He’ll buy it?

Archives